Fighting with the Sky

Sunday Link Love!

Posted on: March 21, 2010

Since I haven’t been doing a lot of writing this week, I have been doing a lot of reading.  Here are some of my favorites!  Also, check out some of the stuff that I have been posting on tumblr.  Or you could even ask me a question!

Womanist Musings: Jesse James and the Fallen Woman

I like Sandra, from the interviews I have seen with her – she seems like a woman that I would really enjoy sharing a beer with; however, the Madonna/Whore binary that this story is creating in her defence is harmful to ALL women.

Professor What If…?: What if she SHOULD be able to run/walk/hike along? Thoughts on the rape and murder of Chelsea King

Yet I must admit that this quote reverberates because it was one of the first things I thought when I heard a young girl was missing after going to run alone in a local park. Living in a rape culture which blames the victim, I recognize that even I, a feminist scholar and teacher, have had a “she should have” commentary beaten into my brain on a daily basis.

fbomb: A Call to Arms

If women are going to continue to break down barriers and keep the fight of feminism alive, we have got to lay off the girl on girl crime. This is something that affects women of all ages. Several weeks ago in Salon Magazine I read an article by Martha P. Nochimson, an established former NYU professor and author, take down Katheryn Bigelow simply because she didn’t like her movie.

Equality 101: Social Contexts of Education: Teaching Social Justice to Privileged Kids

Because children come from privileged backgrounds are the ones who need to know the most about power, privilege, and access; in other words, it is a necessity for these children to understand the foundations of social justice education.

feministhemes.com: That’s Ms., Not Miss, Thank You

Actually, Ms. is a way of privacy. Ms. does not convey age like Miss might indicate youth and Ma’am might indicate experience. Ms. does not convey marital status like Miss implies single and Missus implies married. Ms. implies female, woman, lady. It allows a woman’s name to stand on her own, without being defined by social roles.

Leave a Reply

