Fighting with the Sky

My Reflections on the Oscars

Posted on: March 8, 2010

Overall, I was generally pleased with the results of last night’s 82nd Academy Awards.

The big news of the night: the first woman ever (and fourth ever nominated) won Best Director.  Congratulations to Kathryn Bigelow of The Hurt Locker for that amazing achievement!

The Hurt Locker (and Kathryn Bigelow) also walked away with Best Picture!  I have yet to see the movie, but it is definitely on my to-do list this week!

Despite the fact that Kathryn Bigelow made history last night for her win in Best Director, women were still not recognized across the board.  Out of the 40 total winners, there were only 7 women who won an Oscar (including the awards for Best Actress and Best Supporting Actress).  And of the 24 categories, there were 8 (not including Best Actor or Supporting Actor) that did not include a single female nominee (animated feature film, cinematography, original score, original song, animated short, sound mixing, visual effects, and original screenplay).

Women need to be better represented in film making!

I was also not that impressed with Steve Martin and Alec Baldwin as the hosts.  They weren’t really that funny.  They made a lot of “jokes” about racism and women as objects.  Not cool.  And they also introduced Kathryn Bigelow with her relationship to James Cameron, because she doesn’t have any accomplishments other than being the ex-wife of James Cameron.

And on a more personal preference point, I was a little disappointed that Sandra Bullock won Best Actress (but she did give a really good acceptance speech in which she recognized all of her fellow nominees).  I was really hoping for Meryl Streep or Gabby Sidibe.  I’m not incredibly impressed by Sandra Bullock as an actress (but granted, I have not seen The Blind Side) and from the previews, clips, and reviews that I’ve seen of The Blind Side, it just looks racist and like it’s trying waaaay too hard to be inspirational.

Overall, I can’t be too upset about the Oscars this year because Kathryn Bigelow won and Avatar didn’t!

3 Responses to "My Reflections on the Oscars"

Totally! It was about time a woman won for best director.

As a Cablevision slave, eh forced customer (as its the only cable co availablein my nabe and in NYC there IS no tv reception w/out cable) I’m grateful I even got to see the Oscars. The best thing: little to none of those endless silly montages, host jokes and musical numbers. The worst: constant, constant tv commercials. It was unbelievable. I like the new trend (second tyr they did it) of having best actor/actress introduced by another and given a little tribute. I thought Martin&Baldwin were finyy but the best was we just didnt see them much (see above..) Totally agree about Bullock. She is nice, but Blind Side was no acting tour de force. SHould have won: Gabourney Sibide or woman form An Education (I did see it… her name is completely blocked from my mind right now…). Geoffrey Fletcher’s win (first African American for a screenplay writing award) was refreshing. And it was a great movie.

I’m SO GLAD Bigelow won. I actually teared up during her acceptance speech. And for The Hurt Locker to take home best picture as well–amazing. I know what you mean about Bullock. It’s funny, I saw The Blind Side and hated it, but her performance was very understated at times. But I wouldn’t have predicted that she would win the Oscar, and I got the feeling that she wasn’t quite sure she deserved it either. It would’ve been wonderful to see Sidibe win. I can’t believe her Oscar clip was a scene from Precious stealing and running away with a bucket of chicken. Seriously?

Leave a Reply

