Fighting with the Sky

Lost: LAX

Posted on: February 3, 2010

First off, I have to admit that I did the unthinkable…I fell asleep during the season premiere of Lost.  But I feel like it’s excusable.  I was sick and trying to relax my stomach made my whole body relax and I ended up falling asleep.  And it was only for like 5 minutes, so it’s ok.

“LAX” is all about what happens in the aftermath of the detonation of the hydrogen bomb that we saw in last year’s season finale.  And what happens I’m still having trouble wrapping my head around (but that happens a lot with Lost).  There seem to be two different alternate realities now.  After the hydrogen bomb went off, it sent everyone back to the present (2007) from 1977.  But it also reset the past.  We see the show going back and forth from the island in present day to Oceanic flight 815 in 2004.  But what happens differently this time with Oceanic 815 is that it doesn’t crash.  They all make it safely back to LAX and meet each other in weird ways.  But how can they be on the island and safely arriving at LAX at the same time?  How does that work?

But one nice thing about seeing everyone on Oceanic 815 is that we get to see Charlie, Boone, and Claire again.  Charlie was one of my favorite characters on Lost and I think I might have cried when he died.  So are these three characters back for the season as they make their way through their lives back in Los Angeles?  My guess is that Boone will not be back as a regular as he now has his own show, The Vampire Diaries.  I really hope Charlie is back though.  And it would be nice to see Claire reunited with Aaron…but in the alternate reality, she hasn’t given birth yet.  I’m just super confused as to how this all works.

We also figure out why John Locke wanted to kill Jacob and why there was still a dead John Locke in the coffin.  It turns out that the Man in Black, Jacob’s “enemy,” has taken the form of John Locke and convinced Ben to kill Jacob because he couldn’t do it himself because of some ancient rules.  Also, the Man in Black can transform himself into the black smoke.  What?  This random guy that we just learned about at the end of last season is really the black smoke that has been terrorizing the island since the beginning of the show?  How does that work?  And the Man in Black also has some grudge against Richard.  I really want to learn more about this guy, but it is still really hard to separate him from John Locke as he looks exactly like him.

Also, because Oceanic 815 didn’t crash on the island back in 2004 (at least in this alternate reality), it appears that another Oceanic flight might have crashed on the island instead.  The kidnapped Kate, Jack, Hurley, Jin, and Sayid as they were trying to save Sayid’s life (can I just tell you how glad I am that they didn’t kill off Sayid?).  They also kidnapped Sawyer and Milo later.  But they explain how Jacob sent them and these new plane crash survivors kind of accept them into their community.  Kind of.

Lost is one of the most confusing shows ever.  And I often don’t know how to explain what is going through my head when watching it.  So it has been kind of hard to try to explain what happened and what I think about it because so much happened and it was super confusing.

I often have mixed feelings about a lot of the characters, but especially Kate.  I don’t really like her at anytime.  But I have mixed feelings about her as a representation of women.  Sometimes she holds her own really well and doesn’t let any of the guys on the island push her around.  Other times she is just whiny and complain-y about Jack and Sawyer and won’t make up her mind and leads both of them on.  This is mainly why I find her annoying.

I really like Hurley/Hugo.  But the writers often portray him as the comedic relief and not really useful on the island.  So when Jacob came to him specifically and told him that it was up to him to save Sayid by bringing him to the temple, I was happy.  I was happy to see him in a useful role.  I was happy to see that someone on the island, even if it was a dead Jacob, believed in his capabilities.

I have a feeling that Lost is just going to get more confusing as the season goes on as they try to “answer” the questions that have been prevalent throughout the series.  And it’s just always confusing.  But the season premiere definitely caught my attention (as Lost) normally does and I am excited to see how the final season pans out.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to "Lost: LAX"

I have the same feelings as you do reagarding Kate. Makes me want to wish Ana Lucia was back.

laura:

one, i can’t believe you fell asleep.

two, when you say: “Also, because Oceanic 815 didn’t crash on the island back in 2004 (at least in this alternate reality), it appears that another Oceanic flight might have crashed on the island instead. The kidnapped Kate, Jack, Hurley, Jin, and Sayid as they were trying to save Sayid’s life (can I just tell you how glad I am that they didn’t kill off Sayid?). They also kidnapped Sawyer and Milo later. But they explain how Jacob sent them and these new plane crash survivors kind of accept them into their community. Kind of.”

i don’t think the people that capture them beneath the temple are from a different plane crash…i think they’re the others. remember when the woman tells the japanese guy that “they were from her plane crash” ? she’s referring to oceanic flight 815–that woman was on the tail section. somehow she ends up with the others, but i don’t think we know why. so when kate, jack, hurley, jin, and sayid get kidnapped, i believe they’re kidnapped by others/some group who run the temple. that’s at least how i understood it.

i so wish we could watch together. lots o’ love.

Yeah! A Lost post!

I have always had a soft spot for Kate. I agree that “Sometimes she holds her own really well” and other times she is just “whiny and complain-y about Jack and Sawyer.” But, I love her back-story, love how adventurous and brave she is — love that she almost is always at the heart of the action. I wish she wasn’t all gooey-eyed over the white hetero hotties – but I still love her!

I love Hugo too but agree with you that too often he is mere “comedic relief” — seems too smack of fat stereotyping. But his important role of late has me all happy, happy!

Would love to here your thoughts on my recent Lost post at Girl with Pen. You can find it here: http://girlwpen.com/?p=1825

Leave a Reply

