Fighting with the Sky

Dollhouse: The Hollow Man

Posted on: January 16, 2010

00029996So the posse travels to Rossum headquarters where they all discover that Boyd is in fact the founder of Rossum and has some sort of evil plan for all of them.  Here are some of the main points:

  • Rossum has been mass producing and weaponizing the remote imprinters that Topher designed
  • Boyd wants to harvest Echo’s spinal fluid to create a vaccine for imprinting because Echo’s DNA is special and prevents the imprints from sticking
  • Mellie kills herself because her sleeper protocol is activated but she can’t bring herself to kill Ballard
  • Whiskey has been imprinted with Rossum’s co-founder Clyde and Amy Acker is a great actress (just thought I’d throw that out there)
  • Topher remote wipes Boyd with  the tech that he created and Echo gets him to blow up the Rossum building with him inside

So, Dollhouse is coming to an end.  There is only one more episode left that is set in the future, in the year 2020 after the “thought-pocolype” (Topher’s term) has happened.  I can’t remember if 2020 is before or after the events of “Epitaph One,” but I’m thinking it’s after.  Anyone know for sure?  Anyways, I’m excited to see the final episode and how to decide to wrap things up, but I am sad to see the show ending when it had so much potential.

I think the big question is why did Rossum want to develop the remote imprinters in order to make pretty much the entire population into Actives?  What did they gain from that?  The obviously were going to protect themselves from ever being imprinted with Echo’s spinal fluid vaccine.  So with this massive imprint plan, does this move the show away from the themes of human trafficking, or closer to it?

I’ve talked before about how the show obviously pushes on questions of human trafficking, consent, and personhood, but I have felt that recently (with the whole storyline of trying to bring down Rossum and everything) moved away from these themes.  But was Rossum’s endgame a way of bringing these themes back into the forefront?  Or does the mass scale of their plan move away from the idea of human trafficking.  It still obviously brings in the themes of consent and somewhat personhood, but I think that the show has moved away from the examination of human trafficking.  Any thoughts?

I’m hoping that after the final episode airs in two weeks that I will prepare an analysis of that episode as well as a cumulative look at the series, but we’ll see how motivated I am at that point and how much time I have to devote to that post.  But I am really excited to see how the series ends.  Stay tuned.

5 Responses to "Dollhouse: The Hollow Man"

The finale is called Epitaph Two, so I think it picks up where E1 left off.

I agree with you that the show moved away from the themes of the first season, but I suspect that has more to do with the surprise of getting a 2nd season and trying to fit a lot of storytelling into the final season to make it reach the events of Epitaph One. I’d definitely like to see them tie the themes of season one to the apocalypse tech, but I don’t think we’re going to get that.

Did you ever read the interview with Joss where he said he was really interested in exploring the Doll/client interactions in much more explicit terms (figuratively, not literal explicitness) and Fox wouldn’t let him? It would have been interesting to see what questions he would have asked about relationships and consent if he’d been allowed to do what he initially envisioned.

I’ve always wished they went a little harder on the theme of identity, and what makes a person that specific person. It’s been there all along, but I feel like they didn’t go for home with it like they could have.

I have a question that I want to leave somewhere, and I cannot find a better place than here, so please bear with me…

*Why* is this episode called “The Hollow Man”? *Who* is “the hollow man”, and what is “hollow” about him?

Can you please help me understand this?

Ooh ooh ooh I know this one! I think it’s named for the T.S. Elliot poem, the Hollow Men. It’s dark and ominous like I think they wanted the whole Dollverse to be, especially as it comes to an end.

“Between the desire
And the spasm
Between the potency
And the existence
Between the essence
And the descent
Falls the Shadow”

Here’s a link to the whole thing: http://www.americanpoems.com/poets/tseliot/1076

Epitaph One is set in 2019, incidentally.

I’m not sure how to feel about these final episodes. I haven’t been liking where the show is going, but I am wondering how much of that is the result of the fact that they are being forced to wrap up loose ends.

I definitely feel like there’s been less exploration of what it means to be human, and much more focus on action/bringing down Rossum, and that disappoints me. The show is starting to feel rather unfocused, to me, and I’m not really sure what the…well…what the point is anymore.

Leave a Reply

