Fighting with the Sky

Just a Little Complicated

Posted on: January 6, 2010

its_complicatedI saw It’s Complicated, Nancy Meyers’ new film, a while ago (ok, maybe like a week and a half ago, but it feels like a long time).  I meant to write a post about it then, but other things got in the way.  Anyways, I’m getting to it now.  But because the film isn’t 100% fresh in my memory, I might forget or mis-remember some things that I otherwise wouldn’t if I had written this sooner…just so you know.

I have a mixed relationship with Nancy Meyers films.  I love The Holiday, What Women Want, and The Father of the Bride movies.  However, I’m not really a big fan on her movies like Something’s Gotta Give.  I know that a criticism of Nancy Meyers is that her movies often portray upper middle class white women, which people can’t always identify with.  While this is certainly the case, it’s sometimes easier for me to identify with her characters than in other instances.  I am a middle class white woman, but I am also young, which isn’t usually the demographic that Nancy Meyers’ films go after.  While I can somewhat easily identify (or at least see a tiny part of myself in) her characters from movies like The Holiday and Father of the Bride, I can barely see anything in Something’s Gotta Give.  And yes, I do think this has something to do with the age demographic.

(But I’m not going to talk too much about how Nancy Meyers’ films are all about upper middle class white women, it’s very obvious when you look at them, I’m just going to focus on my reaction to It’s Complicated.)

It’s Complicated fell somewhere in-between this spectrum for me.  It was funny, I was laughing throughout most of it.  But I found it really hard to identify with any other main characters.  They are all in a very very very different stage of life that I am in.  But I didn’t find it hard to see myself in the children of the main characters.  Most of them are around my age and some are going through some of the same things that I am in my life — graduating college, looking for a job, etc.

Even though I didn’t identify with the main characters, I did appreciate that it was a movie that focused on middle aged people and portrayed them in a positive light.  And it focused on the romantic relationships of middle aged people which is even more rare in our youth-obsessed culture.  So I did appreciate that aspect of the movie from a feminist perspective.

But from my age and place in life, I really like the portrayal of the children.  I know that that’s not the main point of the movie or even the most interesting, but that’s what I caught onto throughout the movie.  I liked their relationships with each other and with their parents.  And I especially liked John Krasinski and his character.  He played the fiance of the oldest child.  But that’s more of a personal preference for John Krasinski than anything else.

Overall, I enjoyed the movie.  It had some very funny parts.  And even if I didn’t identify with the main characters, I still found some characters to identify with.  The plot was interesting as well, even if it wasn’t anything that I could identify with (man, I’m using that word/phrase a lot in this post).  I would recommend it to people who enjoy Nancy Meyers movies, but most likely as a rental.  But if you already know that you don’t like Nancy Meyers’ movies, then don’t see it.  It’s pretty much textbook Nancy Meyers.

Leave a Reply

