Fighting with the Sky

Thursday Link Love!

Posted on: December 10, 2009

Blizzard ’09 is underway!  And by blizzard, I just mean continuous snow.  It’s not really a blizzard but that’s what I’ve heard on the news.  And I don’t care if it’s not a blizzard, the roads are still bad and I have to drive to work soon.  Don’t forget to leave links to what you have been writing/reading in the comments!

The Undomestic Goddess: 9th Feminist Blog Carnival

Hello, all! I’m Amanda, aka the Undomestic Goddess, and I’m your ringmaster for this here 9th carnival of feminists. Thanks to all who submitted, and to Lindsay for her guidance. And now, grab yer popcorn and step right up – the carnival has begun!

Small Strokes: On Body Image: How Confidence Affects Body Image

I never thought that something like this affected my body image, but now that I’ve been thinking about it pretty much constantly since my original post a few weeks ago, I realized that it had more of an effect than I thought. Since the issues with my thesis came to my attention, I came home every day and put on my pajamas and crawled under the covers, not wanting to be seen by anyone. I didn’t want to blog or tweet or answer my phone. I went to work in bulky sweaters, and there was no way Tim was getting me out of the apartment this weekend. I just didn’t want to see anyone. I didn’t feel worthy of seeing anyone.

Womanist Musings: Feminism is not a dirty word but it is exclusionary

The issue with feminism is that by locating gender as the singular site of oppression in the lives of women, it ignores the ways in which class, sexuality, disability and race also form the basis of marginalization.

FWD/Forward: Needs Are Not Special

“Special needs” is one of those phrases that just kind of irks me.

I see it most commonly used in reference to children or developmentally disabled adults; the implication in both cases is that the “special needs” individual can’t function without someone else’s help. That this person is totally dependent. And it carries, to my ears, a subtle note of disability-as-tragedy and hardship. Because, of course, if someone is “special needs” that means that someone else must need to meet those “special needs,” right? And that person must be sacrificing so much to get those “special needs” met.

Women & Hollywood: Women, Hollywood and Money

Women are second class citizens in Hollywood and the best way to illustrate it is to look at the money — how it’s earned and how it’s distributed.

Leave a Reply

