Fighting with the Sky

Tuesday Link Love!

Posted on: December 8, 2009

I’m enjoying my first day off in about a week by vegging in front of the television.  Not that productive, but it’s pretty enjoyable.  I’ve recently started watching Torchwood and I am currently watching one where James Marsters (Spike from Buffy) is guest starring and it makes me really happy.  But I figured I should take a break from my vegging to do a link love post!  Don’t forget to leave links to what you have been writing/reading in the comments!

this ain’t livin’: On Feminism, and How to Make it Better

Feminism is a huge movement, but it’s not inclusive, and as a result, many people do not want to identify themselves with it because they are excluded by feminism, and they see no need to be a part of a movement which clearly does not want them. Women of colour, trans women, lower class women, disabled women, they are all theoretically candidates for membership in the feminist movement, but they find the movement so inaccessible that they don’t identify with it.

Because, really, why identify with a movement which is actively harming you?

Appetite for Equal Rights: Feminist Holiday Gift Guide

If you’re gift-giving this holiday season, here’s your Feminist Gift Guide to go by. Use it to find the perfect present for the feminist(s) in your life, or put what you like on your wishlist for you to enjoy.

There are some pretty great ideas in there…

Equal Writes: Dockers: making pants-wearing more misogynistic than ever before

Complacent about what? The fact that Men (and yes, I do mean He-Men) also enjoy some veggies with their steak? But no, apparently there are some questions that our “genderless society has no answer for” – like after seeing this ad, why anyone would wear Dockers.

This ad campaign is pretty disgusting.  I’m contemplating a post of my own on the matter.

Womanist Musings: Disliking Tiger Woods is not a Reason to Laugh at Domestic Violence

What I find disturbing about this so-called comedy is that it reduces domestic violence to something that is not serious, damaging and LIFE THREATENING. Clearly, statistically the victims of domestic violence are overwhelmingly women in heterosexual relationships but this does not mean that there are not male victims. In some situations men DO get beaten by their wives. Domestic violence is also a facet of same sex relationships. When we laugh and create images of a man being beaten, we are victim shaming and making it even more difficult for male victims to step forward and get the help and counselling that they desperately need.

Please watch the SNL clip in the post when you read this.  It is truly disturbing.

Small Strokes: On Body Image: Danine Spencer

I could write an entire post about how any one of these things have decimated my self-concept. Any such post would have to be written in past tense, though. Whenever I look in the mirror lately and I feel bad because my skin isn’t clear or my roots are showing, I am reminded that I am standing up, looking in the mirror, without assistance from anyone or anything.

1 Response to "Tuesday Link Love!"

Thank you for the link-love. I feel so honored!

Leave a Reply

