Fighting with the Sky

A Golf Ball and an SUV

Posted on: December 8, 2009

What’s the difference between a golf ball and an SUV?  Tiger Woods can drive a golf ball 300 yards.

Tiger Woods Learning CenterI was watching Live with Regis and Kelly the other morning (yes, I know, but it’s one of my guilty pleasures) and Bryant Gumbel was guest hosting in Regis’ spot.  And, of course, they had to talk about Tiger Woods because that seems to be the topic of the week.  Bryant Gumbel felt the need to express how bad he feels for Tiger Woods.

I mean, really?  Ok, it sucks to have your personal issues dragged through the media, but that kind of comes with the territory.  If you are as famous as Tiger Woods, you have to know that your personal issues will be the fascination of the public and if you screw up, everyone will find out.

I haven’t been following the story that closesly (frankly, Tiger Woods doesn’t really interest me that much), but last I heard, he had affairs with 6 to 9 women.  And reports of domestic violence against him committed by Elin, his wife, were unconfirmed (I’ll get to this point in a moment).  Forgive me, but I don’t really feel sorry for Tiger Woods for having his multiple, multiple affairs made public.  He’s the one that cheated on his wife.  He’s the one that cheated on his wife with many different women.

But one thing that is not ok about this whole situation is the jokes that people think it is ok to make about domestic violence (please also read the post from Renee at Womanist Musings on this topic).  Domestic violence is funny when it happens to a man.  Ha ha, a man got beat up by a woman.  I can’t blame Elin for being upset; I would be pretty pissed if my hypothetical husband cheated on me, let along with 6 to 9 women.  But being upset, no matter how upset, is not an excuse for domestic violence.  Like I said, the last I heard, these reports of domestic violence were unconfirmed, just speculation based on some happenings.  Even if the domestic violence didn’t happen, that does not mean that it is ok to joke about it.

But domestic violence doesn’t happen to men, so it’s ok to joke about I guess.  Men aren’t victims of domestic violence, they just get beaten up by girls, which makes them less of a man, and therefore funny.

1 Response to "A Golf Ball and an SUV"

I found your blog via The Love Letters Project and I wanted to agree with the point you made about the inappropriate domestic violence jokes. I actually just saw a skit on SNL making fun of the same topic and all I felt was uncomfortable, not amused. At all.

Tiger Woods apparently cheated on his wife with a long list of women and honestly he has the media backfire about that coming. But, in my opinion, the domestic violence jokes are just in bad taste.

Leave a Reply

