Fighting with the Sky

Sunday Link Love!

Posted on: November 1, 2009

magicalHappy Sunday!  I hope everyone had a good Halloween here in the U.S. and Canada.  I enjoyed handing out candy and seeing all of the costumes that people come up with.  At work yesterday we were allowed to dress up and little kids could dress up and we would give them a “treat” (i.e. a bookmark).  As much as I don’t want kids (right now or possibly ever), I do want to be able to dress one up in a cute little costume for Halloween…but then have no further responsibility for those children.  I just want to dress them up.  I know, that sounds weird.

The picture on the left came from this week’s Post Secret.

Anyways, here are some of my favorite posts of the past couple days.  Don’t forget to leave links that what you have been writing and reading!

Whip It: Ripley’s Pick [Bitch Flicks] – a guest post review of the movie Whip It focusing on the body image message that the movie sends.

Princess and Privilege by Elena Perez [Women & Hollywood] – a guest post about the new Disney movie The Princess and the Frog and the representation of the first black Disney princess.

Another Disappointment from Barbara Ehrenreich: A Review of “Bright-Sided” Part 1 and Part 2 [Clarissa’s Blog]

Ableist Word Profile: I Can Feel Your Pain! [FWD/Forward] – I love this series because it is so informative and some of the words they profile (like this phrase) are some that I never even thought of before.

Leave a Reply

