Fighting with the Sky

3OH!3 Strikes Again

Posted on: October 20, 2009

So I keep hearing this new 3OH!3 song featuring Katy Perry on the radio.  It’s called “Starstrukk” and it’s pretty horrible.  I couldn’t find a music video for the song, but here’s a video with the song:

I will be the first to admit that I actually enjoy the song “Don’t Trust Me.”  But “Starstruck” is offensive and doesn’t even really have a good beat for me to make up for the lyrics.

The song promotes street harassment through the wistling at what a girls is wearing.  I still don’t understand why people think that women should be flattered when men whistle at them on the street.  It’s creepy and more about a demonstration of power than driven by sexual desire.  All it does it make the woman feel unsafe.

But wait, there’s more…My “favorite” line (in quotes because I’m being sarcastic.  I don’t want anyone to get confused):

I think I should know how to make love to something innocent without leaving my fingerprints

Does this make anyone else think of rape?

And on top of the street harassment and rape references, it is pretty much saying that women dress and act a certain way just to tease men.

3OH!3 is not the greatest band around, and I don’t think that anyone would say that they would.  But this song makes me disappointed in them.  But I guess I shouldn’t expect much because “Don’t Trust Me” is a horrible song despite the fact that I enjoy it.  But I was really surprised when I found out that the woman in it was Katy Perry.  I just didn’t think it would be a song that she would be a part of.  But I guess they were on tour together and her songs aren’t the greatest either.

5 Responses to "3OH!3 Strikes Again"

For some reason, I got the impression the “something innocent” focus was a reference to stat rape. Regardless of the subject, the song definitely perpetuates rape culture. Disturbing.

I’ve got my gun cocked and I’m ready to blow. Eugh, it evokes sexual harrassment, rape and a whole bag of hideous objectifying positions on women. It’s vile – and they bleep out “fuck” in a Lily Allen song.

that is pretty gross. I saw Katy Perry in concert and it was fun but she’s pretty silly overall. Check out The Gossip. Beth Ditto actually called Katy Perry out on the song “I Kissed a Girl” in the UK Press.

I mean, what else can one expect from the band that wrote “Don’t Trust Me” – which is a completely gross song and which I can’t listen to without getting sick?

I’ve called more than one radio station to protest 3H0!3’s horrible excuse for music being played on the air. Rape culture being marketed by the mass media, mainly to youth and young adults. Gross. End of story.

I am glad to know that I’m not the only one who finds the song offensive. My son said he could not believe the radio was playing it.

Leave a Reply

