Fighting with the Sky

Let's Not Get Emotional

Posted on: October 19, 2009

I’m just going to keep this post short, sweet, and to the point.  If you have further questions, leave them in the comments and I will try to address them!

Why are people so afraid of emotions?  Why does having emotions automatically mean that you can’t make a “good” decision?  Emotions are often associated with women where as rationality is associated with men.

But can anyone really be 100% objective with no emotions entering into the equation?  I don’t think so.  Your emotions will always factor into a decision whether it is a small decision (such as deciding which way to drive to work) or a big decision (such as deciding which house to buy, etc.).  You can never truly get rid of preconceived ideas, emotions, and socialization as much as you try.  You can change these preconceived ideas and socialization, but there will always be something factoring into your decisions no matter how much you deny it.  Why won’t we just admit this?

Some people seem to be afraid to admit that their emotions factor into decision making…why is this?  Are emotions a sign of weakness because they are associated with women?  Now, I know the answer to this is no, but many people believe this.

I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not always good at expressing my emotions.  There are many reasons behind this that I’m not going to go into because it’s rather personal and not really the point of this post.  But denying the idea that my emotions factor into all of the decisions that I make would further hurt my emotional and mental health.

Tags:

3 Responses to "Let's Not Get Emotional"

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by The Sliver Party and Laura, Fairand Feminist. Fairand Feminist said: RT: @TheSliverParty RT @YFemAdventures Let’s Not Get Emotional http://bit.ly/crhMH […]

I find that the more people say they are logical, the more their emotions influence them without their knowledge.

For me when making decisions, the emotions are more for deciding what the goal(s) of the decision is, rather than how to go about achieving it.

In this case, it is preferable to reduce the amount of emotion used to determine how to go about doing what I’m trying to do in a particular decision, since emotions tend to cloud information, or cloud thought processes that could lead to useful information (It’s hard to describe what I’m trying to say exactly, but hopefully the idea’s getting across), that will help me get done whatever it is I’m trying to do.

It may be that some people make decisions they are happier with when using more emotion to make them, but for me this usually doesn’t work out.

Leave a Reply

