Fighting with the Sky

Why, Hello There

Posted on: October 18, 2009

So I feel like I have been absent from blogging this past week and even before that and I would like to explain myself.  This past week particularly I was rather preoccupied with life happenings so I did not have a lot of time to work on internet happenings.  But even before then, I wasn’t really writing as much as I used to.

When I started blogging, I was still searching for a job so I had a lot of free time.  Blogging was a great (and to me, productive) way to fill my time.  But now I have a job.  Yes, it is part-time, but it still occupies a lot of my time and when I’m not working, I have household chores.  Also, when I get home from work, all I really want to do is curl up in my bed.  As I’ve gotten used to my work schedule (which changes every week), I have been able to write a little bit more because I can better schedule my time.

Also, a lot of the issues I want to write about have been covered by the time that I have time to write.  I want this blog to provide something unique and I don’t feel the need to cover an issue or current event that has been covered in other blogs a lot.  I should probably start linking to other blog posts that cover issues that I think are important but have been extensively covered.  I will try to start doing that.  Of course, if I feel super-passionately about a topic, I will still write about it, but maybe not as extensively or academically if it is covered a lot by others.

Also, with the start of the new television season, I have gotten back into my obsessive behavior when it comes to television.  Therefore, a lot of my writing has been about these tv shows — as you can see in my weekly posts about Glee, Bones, and Dollhouse.  I am really interested in pop culture and think that television shows and movies can say a lot about the society we live in as they reflect the values of culture.  I think it is important to analyze the pop culture that we consume to recognize the social values that are inherent in them.  So, I have been writing a lot about pop culture — not only because I think it is important, but also because it occupies a lot of my time.

I hope to start getting back to analytical writing soon, but it all depends on how I am feeling and how much time I have to write.  Is there anything that you would like to see happen on this blog as readers as I try to get back into the swing o of things?  I am always open to suggestions!

2 Responses to "Why, Hello There"

Dear fellow Telly Addict

Dollhouse, Dexter, Glee, Cougarville, Eastwick, Flash Forward… ah, the fall TV season is here!

I am currently away from my rain sodden home in a hotel in a sunny place and am cursing them for not having HBO or Shotime!

Just shows you where MY priorities are!

Happy telly time!

IBC

Just because a topic has been covered before doesn’t mean it’s been covered with your words before! What I’m realizing in grad school is this: lots of things have been said before, but you might have something else to say about them. So I say: cover the topics you want to cover. Just put a new spin on them! You are unique and your ideas are unique. And we all love reading them!!

I, too, have needed a break recently. From feminism and blogging and feminist blogging. I’m going to write about it later, when I feel ready, but just wanted to tell you I know what it’s like to need a break, and we’ll all be here when you’re ready to come back in full force.

Leave a Reply

