Fighting with the Sky

Dollhouse [Sing-A-Long Saturday]

Posted on: October 10, 2009

So, keeping with the theme of “Dollhouse” today…

I’ve been hearing this song on the radio a lot lately.  Being a pop song, it’s not perfect, but I think it has a good message…

The song “Dollhouse” by Priscilla Renea is about how her boyfriend treats her poorly and orders her around and how she’s not going to take it anymore.  She sings about how he has this picture of a perfect girl that she used to try to be, but can’t anymore.  He orders her around, she likes what he likes because he told her to, but now she’s realized that it’s a bad relationship and is out.

The chorus goes like this:

I tried to be a picture perfect girl
But you were in your own fantasy world
Tryna control me like some kind of Barbie
but that just ain’t me

Cause I ain’t a doll, this aint a dollhouse
You’re way too old to be, puttin me down like this
and playing around like this
I ain’t a doll, this ain’t a dollhouse
No, I could never be, stuck living life like this
behind these four walls,cause I ain’t a doll

I like that this song is popular and plays on the radio a lot.  I’m sick of hearing all the songs about either the “perfect” relationship or songs that sexualizes, objectify, and oppress women.  I think that this song could have the potential to empower girls and women.  It could show girls and women that they don’t have to take being in a relationship with this kind of man.  But, like I said, it’s not perfect because it is made to appeal to the mass population and therefore reflects some of the sexist societal norms.

I really like the end of the song:

And I come with imperfections
Epitome of perfection
if you can’t understand, loving the way I am
then you’re no good for me, so glad i kept my receipt

2 Responses to "Dollhouse [Sing-A-Long Saturday]"

what ‘sexist societal norms’ did you see? i didn’t think anything about this was sexist. i don’t really like the music, but i think it’s great for what it is.

Leave a Reply

