Fighting with the Sky

Bones: The Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood

Posted on: October 9, 2009

5x04_1In this episode, Booth and Brennan are investigating a murder in a D.C. suburb.  Everyone in the neighborhood is sleeping with each other and have rivalries between each other.  I honestly wan’t that interested in the investigation this episode, so I’m going to leave that part of the storyline at that.  The main side storyline is that Parker, Booth’s son, thinks that Booth needs a girlfriend.  He’s going around to Angela and Cam and asking them to be Booth’s girlfriend.  Brennan finally asks Parker why he thinks Booth needs a girlfriend (while out to a meal with Booth and Parker as an effort on Booth’s part to show that he has a social life to Parker, it wasn’t that much of an effort in my book).  Parker’s response: because he wants a pool.  His friend’s dad got a new wife and they moved into a house with a pool and he thinks that’s how it works…I found that kind of amusing.

The part of the episode that bothered me the most involved one of the various interns that we see throughout the episodes.  This episode featured the intern (I don’t remember his name) who is Muslim.  The team often questions how he can be a man of science and believe in this religion (not because he’s Muslim, but because he’s religious in general since none of them are).  In this episode, we find out that he is faking his Middle Eastern accent.  Cam immediately jumps to the “he’s a terrorist because he faked an accent” thing.  I thought that was completely uncalled for.  It turns out that he faked his accent because he thinks that it will make people take his religious beliefs more seriously.  I just saw this whole storyline as pointless and kind of insulting.  Whenever this intern is on the show, the storyline with his character centers around his religious beliefs.  I understand that his religion is a big part of the character, but I’d like to get to know the character in a different aspect of his life.  And was it really necessary to have him faking an accent?

I really like the interactions between Sweets, the psychologist, and Brennan, the anthropologist.  Brennan does not hold much regard for psychology and Sweets always tries to push his point and they always have entertaining interactions.  But I did not like Sweets referencing Freud in this episode in regards to why Parker was obsessed with Booth getting a girlfriend.  Anything that references Freud seriously is hard for me to handle.

I was liking that the past couple episodes have not tried to focus on Booth and Brennan’s potential romantic relationship.  And this episode kind of followed suit.  But then we got to the end when Booth asked Brennan out to a meal with him and Parker.  Parker, of course, had to ask why Brennan wouldn’t be his father’s girlfriend.  Which, of course, led to an awkward moment.  (I have to prepare myself for next week, because from the preview it looks like it is going to be all about their potential romantic relationship.)

I have been kind of disappointed with Bones lately.  Not because the episodes have been incredibly bad, but because they just haven’t impressed me that much.  I still enjoy the episodes, but I am not left wow-ed.  I just don’t know what else to say about this episode because it wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t exactly great either.  Bones really needs to step it up!

Also check out meloukhia’s review up at this ain’t livin’.

3 Responses to "Bones: The Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood"

Anything that references Freud seriously is hard for me to handle.

You and me both!! I had gothic lit class in college with an English professor who lost all credibility with me because she considered Freud’s ideas as fact, and I could not argue otherwise with her. It made writing papers for her really difficult because I wasn’t giving her what she wanted.

And yes, every time Bones brings in the Muslim intern, the writing gets cringeworthy. I picture a bunch of white dudes sitting around the writing room going, “Okay, we need to show that we’re tolerant! We understand diversity! We have to show the audience that suspicions about Muslim people are unfounded! Um, does anyone here actually know a Muslim person? They talk funny, right?”

@ Brooke

“Okay, we need to show that we’re tolerant! We understand diversity! We have to show the audience that suspicions about Muslim people are unfounded! Um, does anyone here actually know a Muslim person? They talk funny, right?”

I laughed and the sad thing is I can picture it.

I have been really torn about the portrayal of Arastoo (the Muslim intern). I think they’re making a good faith effort to try and address some of the problems that Muslims face in America, but, yeah, usually the scenes with him just make me writhe.

However, I thought he had kind of a great moment at the end, after he’d come out and the gang were sitting around, when Hodgins asked him that rather rude question about how he could follow an archaic faith and be a scientist, and he replied the Allah made the world and science tries to explain it.

And, you know, the whole show revolves around the divide between faith and science, so it’s nice to see faith getting a fair shake now and then. (Even though I am firmly in the science camp.)

Leave a Reply

