Fighting with the Sky

The Doll I Always Wanted!

Posted on: September 1, 2009

poledancedollJust what I always wanted when I was a kid!  A pole-dancing doll!

This doll “dances to the music and moves up and down the pole as well as around and around the poll.”  I don’t know who thought this was appropriate for children — probably the same people that put Miley Cyrus on a pole on top of an ice cream truck at the Teen Choice Awards.

And yes, this doll is for and marketed towards children.  Don’t get me wrong, pole dancing can be an appropriate expression of sexuality.  But I think Melissa at Shakesvilles says it best:

My objection to this item is that it introduces as a fun activity a sex act to which a child cannot consent and actively seeks to sexualize children, specifically girls, and specifically in an objectified and submissive sexual role.

Sexualizing children is not only harmful to children, but to adults as well.  If young girls are sexualized, then women are encouraged to look like young girls.  And when that can’t happen (because people – gasp! – age), they are encouraged to resort to things like plastic surgery, eating disorders, and other harmful activites.

I hope that the makers of this doll realize what a big mistake they have made.

3 Responses to "The Doll I Always Wanted!"

This is very disturbing, who the hell would green light this?
I remember, back in the day, when dolls were discreet about being sexist, stereotyped, or bad influence.

This is the creepiest thing I’ve seen in a while. What kind of weird parents would buy this for their child? Or is it aimed at pedophiles as a kind of a sex toy?

I haven’t seen any reliable sources confirm that this doll even exists.

Leave a Reply

