Fighting with the Sky

Secret Life Says Its Ok to Talk About Your Period!

Posted on: September 1, 2009

As much as I think the show Secret Life of the American Teenager does a horrible job at depicting the realities of teen pregnancy, it actually does do some good things.

In last night’s episode, they actually talked about how it’s ok to talk about and discuss your period — it’s nothing to be ashamed of.  I was shocked.  Normally pop culture tries to tell us that mentruation is dirty and should be a private matter.  You should not discuss your period with anyone, least of all your boyfriend.  But in last night’s episode, it was Grace’s boyfriend, Jack, that told her that she should not be ashamed of her period.  Grace was trying to find a way to tell Jack she got just got her period — my monthly visitor is here, aunt flo is here, it’s that time of the month, etc.  She went through about 10 of these euphemisms when Jack finally said “your vagina sounds busy, I better come back later.”  I actually thought that was hilarious.  He went on to tell her that if they were in a long-term relationship and in love, and have seen each other naked, then there is no reason why she should feel embarrassed about having her period.  Way to go!

Despite earlier in the season when Grace thought her father’s death was punishment for having sex with Jack, I think Grace and Jack actually have a fairly healthy relationship.  They talk openly about having or not having sex, they respect each other’s wishes, they support each other’s decisions, etc.  I think their relationship is a great depiction of a healthy relationship, especially when put up against some of the other teenage (and adult) relationships on the show, mainly Ricky and Adrian and Ben and Amy.

I was pretty impressed that a teen show on ABC Family actually talked about how it’s ok to openly discuss your period, with a man no less.  Because it is ok.  Periods are nothing to be ashamed of, they are a part of nature.  And I’m glad that this show actually portrays some form of a healthy relationship.  But the show doesn’t really do what I think it was originally meant to do — portray the realities of teen pregnancy.

2 Responses to "Secret Life Says Its Ok to Talk About Your Period!"

I have a love/hate relationship with that show. I think it’s so ridiculous and often offensive, but I love to watch it for the unintentional humor. It’s sad though that, as you said, it doesn’t do what it was originally meant to do. I can’t stand how Ben and Amy refer to each other as their future husband/wife

I think menstruation hasn’t been a taboo topic for discussion with one’s boyfriend and even male friends for quite a while now. I remember when I was a teenager in the early nineties I was too embarrassed to buy tampons and would get my boyfriend to buy them for me.

Leave a Reply

