Fighting with the Sky

Watch Out: Stalker Vamps Now Think It's Ok to Rape You

Posted on: August 30, 2009

Can we have a show/movie about vampires that does not have at least one stalker-y vampire who wants to have his way with a certain women.  Twilight has Edward.  Both Angel and Spike have their stalker moments in Buffy and Angel.  And Bill in True Blood is pretty possessive of Sookie and feels the need to “have his way with her.”

But no worries, Stephen Moyer (who plays Bill Compton on True Blood) can explain women’s desires to watch stalker-y vampires.  In an interview for Nylon magazine, Moyer had this to say about vampire sex:

The thing about vampirism is that it taps into a female point of view – you have an old-fashioned gentleman with manners who is a fucking killer… it’s an interesting duality, because in our present society it would be an odd thing for a woman to say, ‘I want my man to be physical with me.’ How, as a modern man, can you fucking work that? It’s one thing to be polite and gentle… But when do you know it’s OK to crawl out of the mud and rape her [as Bill does in one scene]?… It’s difficult stuff for a bloke, but a vampire gets away with it…. I think that’s the attraction of the show – it’s looking back at a romantic time when men were men, but they were still charming.”

I’m glad Stephen Moyer is here to tell us about the “female point of view” and how women want to be raped sometimes.  I hate to break it to you Stephen, but there is nothing romantic or charming about rape.  I can’t speak for all women, but I don’t think it is ok to go around with the mindset that women want to be raped sometimes.

I do think there is something romantic about vampires or the vampire genre, but I think it has more to do with the gothic themes than the combination of charm and rape…at least for me.  I used to love Stephen Moyer.  While I find the character of Bill Compton problematic at times, I thought Stephen Moyer did a good job at playing the character.  But I guess now we know why.

I’d like to see a mainstream vampire show/movie avoid this idea of vampire as stalker or vampire as racist.  I think it could be either really good or really bad, but I think if the right person does it, it could have a great result…sometime that is romantic without being creepy.

Further reading about Stephen Moyer’s quote:

7 Responses to "Watch Out: Stalker Vamps Now Think It's Ok to Rape You"

We are clearly thinking on the same wavelength this morning.

What really irritated me about the Moyer quote, is that, the scene he’s referencing? That’s not rape. That’s consensual sex. And it’s hot consensual sex between two partners who are able to communicate wordlessly because they are attuned to each other.

It sounds to me like Moyer is perhaps a little bit afraid of empowered female sexuality, because plenty of women can and do ask their partners to “get physical” and they don’t need to be, uhm, RAPED.

Yeah, evidently it’s “ok to like it rough” as long as a man’s doing it to you, but not when you actively solicit it and negotiate boundaries.

I was so disappointed by this quote by Moyer. I love True Blood so much because it is a vampire show that has a spunky heroine, true-to-life characters, and some sexy vamps who are also flawed and relateable. I’m also very much in the anti-Twilight camp, and True Blood for me has been a great antithesis to it. But for Moyer to come out and say this, it has broken the spell for me. Suddenly, True Blood is a little less meaningful, its characters a little less engaging, its (I found it to be feminist) message dampened just a little. I love the show still, but I don’t think I can forgive Moyer for this.

I’ve had the chance to review “Adventures of a Young Feminist” and I’m very happy I did. You are doing a wonderful job and I appreciate the effort you put into this blog.

I’d like to offer my congratulations as your blog has been added to the Blogging Women directory.

I created Blogging Women to showcase the wonderful world of blogs created by women and I’m pleased to be adding another quality blog to our directory.

Keep up the good work and watch for our monthly contest to have your blog listed in our “Featured Blogs” section.

There might have been something romantic about vampires, but thanks to Twilight and these other vampire-is-a-stalker/abusive-boyfriend tales, all the “romance” is gone.

Rape is not “physical” or rough sex. Rape is forcing a woman to do something she does not want to do; by definition it cannot be something she “wants” or enjoys.

Women can want rough (or “physical”) sex, that’s fine. But please let’s not belittle rape by using the word when we mean something completely different. That quote is pretty appalling in its ignorance (among other things).

[…] here thinks that women want that “gentlemanly but dangerous” man who’s romantic and will rape them. Stephanie thinks it’s okay to promote stalking and obsessiveness/aggressive […]

Leave a Reply

